# **Report of the Commission on Accreditation**

## National Association of Schools of Art and Design October 2022

#### **NEW MEMBERS**

Subsequent to action by the Commission on Accreditation in October 2022, NASAD is pleased to welcome the following institution as a new member:

### INSTITUTIONS GRANTED ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP:

**Missouri State University** Vonda Yarberry Head, Department of Art and Design

901 South National Avenue Springfield, MO 65897

**Formal Commission Report.** The official report of actions taken by the NASAD Commission on Accreditation at its meetings of October 2022 begins on the following page.

## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS OF ART AND DESIGN

# **REPORT OF THE COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION**

## Matt Greenwell, Chair

## October 2022

After positive action by the Commission on Accreditation, the following new institutions were granted Associate Membership:

#### **Missouri State University**

Action was deferred on one (1) institution applying for Associate Membership.

Progress Reports were accepted from one (1) institution recently granted Associate Membership.

After positive action by the Commission on Accreditation, the following member institutions were granted Membership:

Community College of Rhode Island Harrisburg Area Community College Purdue University Fort Wayne Radford University University of North Georgia

Action was deferred on two (2) member institutions applying for Membership.

Progress Reports were accepted from five (5) institutions and acknowledged from one (1) institution recently granted Membership.

After positive action by the Commission on Accreditation, the following institutions were granted renewal of Membership:

**Benedict College Boston University** California State University, Los Angeles Champlain College (SPPA) Kansas City Art Institute Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris University Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design North Carolina State University (SPPA) **Northern State University Russell Sage College** State University of New York, Fredonia **University of Montana University of New Orleans** University of South Carolina Upstate University of South Dakota Virginia Tech (SPPA)

## **Report of the Commission on Accreditation — October 2022** (continued)

## Washburn University West Virginia University

Action was deferred on eleven (11) institutions applying for renewal of Membership.

Progress Reports were accepted from eight (8) institutions recently granted renewal of Membership.

Three (3) applications were approved for Substantive Change.

Fifty-seven (57) programs were granted Plan Approval.

Action was deferred on thirty-four (34) programs submitted for Plan Approval.

Progress Reports were accepted from eight (8) institutions and acknowledged from two (2) institutions concerning programs recently granted Plan approval.

Twenty-one (21) programs were granted Final Approval for Listing.

Action was deferred on five (5) programs submitted for Final Approval for Listing.

One (1) program was granted Basic Listing.

Three (3) institutions were granted second-year postponements for re-evaluation.

One (1) institution was granted a fourth-year postponement for re-evaluation.

Five (5) institutions were notified regarding failure to submit the 2021-2022 HEADS Data Survey.

One (1) institution was notified regarding past due for submission of the Notice of Intention to Apply form.

One (1) institution was placed on probation.

Twenty-one (21) institutions (ArtCenter College of Design, Brookhaven College of Art, California Institute of the Arts, Columbus College of Art and Design, Cornish College of the Arts, Massachusetts College of Art and Design, Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Moore College of Art and Design, New York Film Academy, Pacific Northwest College of Art, Parsons School of Design, Pratt Institute, Rhode Island School of Design, Roberts Wesleyan College, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, School of Visual Arts, Shintaro Akatsu School of Design at University of Bridgeport, Studio Arts College International, Tufts University, University of the Arts, University of Texas at Austin) withdrew from membership during the 2021-2022 academic year.